How To Disable Wi-Fi Sense (Post Upgrade)

In my last post, I talked about the all-too-scary potential dangers of Windows 10’s Wi-Fi Sense.  Today, I’ll give a quick post on how to turn if off, if you’ve forgotten to do so during the installation/upgrade process.

Now, your Wi-Fi security password is supposedly encrypted, but understand that it violates SANS Critical Control #7. And when entire organizations have your Wi-Fi password, no matter how encrypted, there’s just too great of a chance it can be cracked. So, it is best to be in control of your own wireless network security.

To re-iterate, this guide will only show you how to disable Wi-Fi Sense after the upgrade or installation is complete. It would be better to turn this off during that process, but you have to use the “Advanced Settings” and pay close attention, as it does not use the words Wi-Fi Sense anywhere in the process.

Step 1:

Tap/Click on the Windows icon in the lower left of your screen, and type “Change Wi-Fi Settings”. The proper option will show itself at the top of the results.

Windows 10 Search Results
Windows 10 Search Results

Step 2:

Click or tap Manage Wi-Fi Settings below the list of visible networks:

Manage Wi-Fi Settings
Manage Wi-Fi Settings is below the list of visible networks

Step 3:

UNcheck both “Connect to suggested open hotspots” and “Connect to networks shared by my contacts“. While that seems a setting for you to connect to others, this one also controls whether your network password is shared or not. The first setting isn’t technically required to disable Wi-Fi password sharing, but it’s a bad idea to randomly connect to open (unencrypted) hotspots, anyway. You should do that manually, and only with great forethought.

Wi-Fi Sense Settings
Wi-Fi Sense Settings

 

Conclusion:

Pretty simple, today. But the question came up in an online discussion, and I wanted to do a quick write up for it.

Share Button